What am I playing.

Posted: September 6, 2011 in Comics, Gaming

I was trying to figure out what to write as my first post here.  Since I am trying to make this a blog about mostly gaming i figured I would post about what I am currently playing.  Also about what comic I am currently reading( because its absolutely AMAZING).

So there’s a few games at the moment that I am working on.  Some of them to finally finish.  Some to go through again and others that just never end.  First off, there’s World of Warcraft.  I play a lot of WoW.  On my current server I have five level 85 characters. I do raid casually with my guild so we are quite far behind but we move at our own pace and enjoy the content.  If we really focused and worked on progression I’m sure we would be farther along in Firelands.  We prefer to schedule a few raids each week and just go with the flow.  I would rather play when I feel like it and get things done at a slower pace than be told that I have to raid 4 or 5 nights a week.

I’ve also dabbled in some League of Legends lately.  I’m still pretty terrible at it but am definitely getting better.  Except for one match last night where I died about 16 times.  It was brutal.  I used to play DOTA a bit back in the day  so this game play isn’t new to me.  It has been a real long time so I think once I find my groove and a play style within LoL that fits me I should be alright.  Definitely a fun game that I need to spend more time playing

I recently decided to give the Rift Trial a go.  This is a very pretty game.  The view while I was running across Freemarch was absolutely stunning. Seeing the Rifts tearing open as your traveling around is really cool. I thought the game play was really fun.  Pretty standard for most MMOs out there.  The part of the game that I was the most curious to see was the Ascended Soul skill trees.  Brief description for those who don’t know.  In the game there are only 4 classes.  Warrior, Cleric, Mage, Rogue.  You choose a class and once you start playing you unlock Souls which are essentially your skill trees and abilities.  There are 8 souls per class and you can eventually unlock them all and swap them out as needed.  Very cool system.  I strongly suggest giving the Free Trial a shot if you haven’t played Rift before.

Another game that I enjoy playing is APB Reloaded. If I ever have a few minutes to spare and just want to kill pedestrians and run people over I hop into APB.  Despite its flaws the game is still a lot of fun. Cops and Robbers MMO.  Pick your side. It’s free to play.  Try it out.  Counter-Strike.  More than ten years later and I still love this game.  When I really need to rock out and relieve some stress CS usually helps.  Another FPS that I enjoy and have been getting back into lately is MAG on PS3.

There are so many other games that I play that going through and talking about each one would probably take a really long time.  I would like to get back to gaming thank you very much and I promised to mention some comic awesomeness.  While I was at Fan Expo Canada last week I had swung by the Image booth to take a look at what they had.  Invincible. A series of theirs that I had been hearing great things about but never got around to reading.  I picked up the hard cover compendium volume 1 Invincible on the Friday.  Was completely blown away when I read it that night.  Throughout the weekend I ended up going back to buy volumes 2-6.  Absolutely wicked series.  Has quickly become on of my favorite series I’ve ever read.  It’s been around for a few years and is up to issue 86 at this time. That’s a lot of catching up but definitely worth it.  Also from Image, The Red Wing.  A four issue mini series that’s really well written and looks spectacular.  Two issues are out so far and the third will be released on September 14th.

That’s it for now. I’m out.

-FMG-

some other games i’m playing – Starcraft 2, Warcrat 3, Torchlight, Infamous 2

Comments
  1. Strong start. May the force be with you.

  2. Thanks! Good to know that I’m doing something right. I love your blogs over at Pixl Press. I really do agree with you guys. It truly is a great time to be a gamer.

Leave a Reply

