Diablo 3 Dilemma

Posted: October 27, 2011 in Gaming
Tags: , , , , ,

Plenty of awesome stuff came out of Blizzcon this past weekend. Expansion announcement – The Mists of Pandaria, Diablo 3 cinematic reveal and brand spanking new Heart of the Swarm trailer. They also announced The World of Warcraft Annual Pass. A really great idea Blizz. Kudos.

There are a lot of WoW players that will be playing Diablo 3. Having to compete with your own game is something that no company wants to do. So Blizzard is giving the digital version of Diablo 3 free to WoW players who sub to the annual pass. Which is awesome. You also get Tyrael’s Charger mount(which looks pretty cool) for WoW and guaranteed access into the beta for the next expansion The Mists of Pandaria.

I may be very excited for SWTOR but I still love my WoW and will keep playing it between SWTOR sessions. So paying for a year sub, and getting all the bells and whistles that Blizz is giving with it is a great deal. Getting Diablo 3 free? I’m going to be playing that for sure anyways so it’s really a no brainer… Or is it?

They also unveiled the Diablo 3 Collectors Edition. I’m a big fan of CE’s. BIG fan. The D3 CE comes with some pretty cool extras. It has a 4gig Soulstone usb that’s loaded with a digital copy of D2 and D2: Lord of Destruction and a stand shaped like Diablos skull to set it in. In game aesthetic artifacts that makes ya grow wicked ass glowing wings, an exclusive banner and armor dyes. Also a Fetish Shaman pet for WoW and Battlenet portraits. A behind the scenes Blu-Ray/DVD set, Diablo 3 art book and a CD soundtrack. So a pretty loaded CE if ya ask me.

I got a CE of Cataclysm and it also came with an art book and DVD of behind the scenes. The art book was amazing. Really great quality and the DVD has some really cool stuff on it. The quality of the Blizzard CE’s are always top-notch and definitely worth the extra coin if you are a fan of collectibles and extras. So I’m definitely down to get the annual pass for the free version of D3 but I really want me a CE.

I’m very much on the fence about getting the annual pass simply because I REALLY want the CE. I also REALLY want the charger, extra items and MoP Beta access. What I’m wondering is if the product key for the D3 that comes with the annual pass will be separate from the rest of the items bundled with it. Then I could get the items and pass the digital version of the game off to a friend who could care less about any of the extras and buy myself the CE. If I remember correctly with the Cata CE the product key had all the bonus items built into it so passing the code along to a friend wouldn’t work out…

I likes my shiny stuffs… So in the end I might end up with two copies of D3. Possibly 3 or 4 in the future because there’s talk of possible ports to PS3 and 360. So much D3… Damn you Blizzard why are you so awesome. So much cool stuff. I want it all, and I want it now.

WoW players that plan on getting D3, the annual pass really is a worthwhile investment, but if you’re like me and really dig CE’s as well… We’re so screwed… This is looking to be a very expensive few months…

/end rant

Thanks for reading…

-FMG-

Leave a Reply

