Diablo 3 Beta hands on – Part 1

Posted: February 3, 2012 in Diablo 3, Gaming
Tags: , , , ,

So lately I’ve been going on about some awesome game with laser sword and telekinetic badasses. Today I will absolutely refrain from babble on about that sweet piece of awesome. Absolutely. In this post I’ll be drooling all over my keyboard while I write about a great little game called Diablo 3. I got in to the Beta the other day with the latest slew of invites. Thank you Blizzard for not having an NDA. After waiting ten years for the next Diablo and finally getting my hands on it, not being able to talk about the sheer awesomeness would literally kill me.

Wandering around the world murdering tons of monsters for shiny baubles brought me back. I’m a huge fan of Diablo. Played the hell out of the first one and still have Diablo 2 installed and on my quick launch bar that I pop into from time to time. No huge leaps and bounds apart from the previous titles. It feels like a Diablo game, and damn does it ever feel good. Even with the limited part of the game available in the Beta, in my opinion it blows D2 out of the water. Can’t wait to get my hands on the full game.

At this point I’ve played through the Beta 3 times. Twice with the Witchdoctor because fire and Zombies are awesome. Once with a Monk. About halfway with the other three classes. Some of the abilities are pretty bad ass. The resources for the classes are each different. Nothing really groundbreaking there. Barbarians use rage. Builds up as you use certain abilities so that you can use others. Monk, same thing but it’s called spirit. Except Monk starts at full spirit and has to build it back as they use it and Barbarians start with no rage and have to build it up to start. Witchdoctors use mana. Self explanatory. Wizards use arcane power. Kinda like mana except its a fixed amount that doesn’t seem to increase as you level.

The one class that has a bit of a unique dual resource system is the Demon Hunter. They have hatred and discipline. Some abilities generate hatred.  Other abilities use hatred or discipline. Some actually use both, sometimes… For example there’s an ability called Evasive Fire that uses four hatred. If you are firing at an enemy that is close to you, your character does a back-flip away from the target that causes the ability to cost four discipline as well. I’ve only gotten to about level five or six on the Demon Hunter so far but its pretty fun and definitely feels unique compared to the other classes.

My favorite so far is definitely the Witchdoctor. I’ve been playing games for a while now and can take a look at skill trees and abilities and can usually tell which one I’m gonna like the most. Since I have a huge obsession with Zombies as soon as they showed the early clips of the Witchdoctor abilities I knew that would be my “main” class. While I am unable to reach the level to unlock the Wall of Zombies ability in Beta, I have my Zombie dogs and one Zombie that jumps out of the ground at things and eats their faces. Pretty damned wicked.

Even with those kick as spells I have to say my favorite ability in the game that I’ve seen so far is Firebats. I’ve seen abilities in other games that summon swarms of bats. This one is next level wicked. While you summon in this swarm of bats that fly in over your head and attack in a cone, you breath fire. Which in turn sets the bats on fire. Then they swarm the targets. Yes. A swarm of flaming bats. Epic. When I did my second play-through with the Witchdoctor that’s pretty much the only ability I used. Was constantly getting bonus experience for killing multiple enemies with a single blow. It was hilarious. So much fun.

Which is a perfect segue to the next part. You can earn bonus experience points for chaining kills together or multiple kills with a single blow. Also by breaking a bunch of barrels etc. Getting rewards when you have a perfectly timed attack that takes out multiple enemies or just go on a massive rampage is pretty cool. I think my highest one shot kill is about 8 or so with a Lashing Tail Kick on my Monk which is a roundhouse kick that decimates anything around you. It’s pretty cool. Highest chained multikill which is called massacre if I remember correctly, is about 60. I was on my Witchdoctor. There was a room with a jar. I clicked a jar. Massive amounts of skeletons swarmed me like some sort of skeletal apocalypse. Then I Firebatted the crap out of them like a boss. Good times.

I’ll be playing through some more for sure. I want to cap level all the classes and try different ability combinations some more. Will have time to get more into it this weekend I hope and will definitely make another post. So far, I think it’s great. Looking forward to the full release even more than I was. Got my Collector’s Edition pre-order in as soon as they announced the CE. Wish there was an open Beta so more of you could experience the game and squash any doubts you may have about it. Also so I can get in some co-op. Haven’t gotten to try that yet. I know one other person that has Beta access but our D3 playtime hasn’t lined up yet. Hopefully I’ll get into some of that this weekend. Might just try getting into a random public game. So that’s all for now. Hope you enjoyed it.

Thanks again for reading folks.

-FMG-

Comments
  1. goiabatatu says:

    “They have hatred and discipline. Some abilities generate hatred. Other abilities use hatred or discipline. Some actually use both, sometimes…” Interesting!

Leave a Reply

