This is why I PvP

Posted: February 18, 2012 in SWTOR
Tags: , , , ,

Just wanted to do a quick post today while I was working on other behind the scenes stuff for the blog.  A lot of exciting things coming soon for FMG.  Pretty stoked.  Onward to the good stuff.

I was in a Huttball with a couple guildies the other day.  Started off pretty poorly actually.  Ended up going down 3-0 in the first few minutes and it was looking pretty grim.  They weren’t really rolling over us.  We were on top of their carrier pretty well and trying our best to take away their passes.  Finally we got our hands on the ball.  We scored our second point with less than a minute to go.  The battle was pretty intense and getting those two points was no easy task.  I turned towards the middle once I saw our carrier had a clear shot for the end zone.  As soon as the ball re-spawned I grabbed it and hauled ass.  Had to fight off a few enemies and ended up by the last hazard with only about 10-15 seconds remaining.  I was on my Sith Assassin so I used my speed burst and ran right through the  fire.  Scored a point with about 5 seconds to go.  A team member picked up the ball just as time expired.  In a tie game who ever is holding the ball at the end wins.  So despite our slow start we fought back for the win.  It was pretty intense and a lot of fun.  One of the best warzones I’ve ever participated in.  Not ever single match is intense like that but when you get ones that are it really is pretty awesome.  Even if we would have ended up losing it if the other team had picked up the ball at the last second in the tie I wouldn’t have been upset.  I don’t mind losing when it’s just a hard-fought battle on both sides like that.

Which kinda brings me to the point of this post.  So many people leave a warzone if their team gets scored within the first minute or if a bomb gets planted quickly on a door on a Voidstar etc.  Which leaves the team down a person until the replacement loads in and gets into the fight which makes it harder to overcome that early slip.  If only people would realize that it’s not over until it’s over and stick it out, work together that it is possible to make a come back.  It’s a little frustrating at times.  I do try my best to get people to work together and come back when I can but when half the team leaves in the first minute or two sometimes, it can be pretty rough.

It’s not like the comeback was a total fluke and never happens.  I’ve actually had it happen quite a few times.  There was another warzone that I joined and ended up being on the opposite team of a guildie.  I joined in the middle of the Huttball match and my team was down 3-1 or 3-2 with only a few minutes remaining.  Working together with one or two of the others on my team we went after that Huttball like white on rice.  In the end we won 4-3.  I do understand that sometimes you get placed against a really good premade group and it’s almost impossible at times to really do much of anything.  That doesn’t make me want to give up.  If I see they are just rolling my team and just having their way with us, I do whatever I can to slow them down.  If they are going to win I’m not going to make it easy.  I’m going to be the biggest pain in the ass that I can and make them work for it.

Those really tight, hard-fought matches are the reason I PvP.  Win or lose, if it’s an intense battle, it’s really a lot of fun.

That’s all for now.  Thanks for reading.

-FMG-

Leave a Reply

